The mandate of the Council is to lead VCH Research Institute to achieve its goals through inclusive, transparent, accountable and collaborative activities.

Guiding Principles:

  • The activities of the Council and its Working Groups are driven “bottom up” i.e. through the identified needs of VCH Research Institute community of researchers and their associated Centres, Programs and/or research interests.
  • The Council strives to be interactive and responsive to the changes in health care delivery systems, changing technologies and new and evolving science for basic science, clinical, community and translational research activities. 
  • The Council collaborates with research entities outside of VCH Research Institute, such as other Research Institutes, Health Authorities, granting agencies and provincial, national and international research initiatives.

The Council’s priorities are to achieve the following.

  • Create a translational research culture throughout VCH
  • Set research priorities to create a balance between major players, evolving groups and research interests, encourage research clusters
  • Enable optimal outcomes of the Working Groups
  • Strive for effective Internal and External Outcome Evaluation
  • Make timely decisions
  • Advocate for research awareness with the public and government
  • Advocate for knowledge exchange within and outside of VCH


Dr. Robert McMaster
Executive Director
VCH Research Institute


Mary Ackenhusen
President & Chief Executive Officer
Vancouver Coastal Health

Dr. Stirling Bryan
Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Evaluation (C2E2)
VCH Research Institute

Dr. Max Cynader
Brain Research Centre and Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health
Canada Research Chair in Brain Development, UBC
Professor of Ophthalmology

Dr. Howard Feldman
Executive Associate Dean, Research, UBC
Professor of Neurology in the Department of Medicine, UBC

Dr. Mark FitzGerald
Director, Institute for Heart and Lung Health

Dr. Martin Gleave
Executive Director, Vancouver Prostate Centre
Chief Executive Officer, PC-TRiADD
Distinguished Professor, Department of Urologic Sciences, UBC
BC Leadership Chair in Prostate Cancer Research

Dr. Larry Goldenberg
Professor & Head, Department of Urologic Sciences UBC
Director of Development, the Vancouver Prostate Centre

Barbara Grantham
President & CEO
VGH & UBC Hospital Foundation

Dr. Kevin Gregory-Evans
Julia Levy Research Chair
Clinical Ophthalmologist, Eye Care Centre VGH

Dr. Harvey Lui
Head Department of Dermatology and Skin Science, UBC
Medical Director of The Skin Care Centre, the Lions Skin Centre
and the Psoriasis and Phototherapy Clinic at VGH

Dr. Bassam Masri
Orthopaedic Surgeon, VGH
Professor & Head
Department of Orthopaedics UBC

Dr. Heather McKay
Director, Centre for Hip Health and Mobility

Dr. Graydon Meneilly
Head, Department of Medicine
University of British Columbia

Dr. Patrick O’Connor
Vice President, Medicine, Quality and Safety
Vancouver Coastal Health

Dr. Tom Oxland
Principal Investigator, ICORD
Canada Research Chair, Spine Biomechanics
Professor & Associate Head of Research, Department of Orthopaedics, UBC