Research Communities

Research takes place across VCH. Some of our community and interdisciplinary research areas are located outside of our major centres and programs.

These areas include far reaching research work. For example, at Lions Gate Hospital and within the Coastal areas, research is conducted in Neurology, Mental Health, Emergency, and community health issues. Richmond Hospital has a particular interest in mental health issues, but also conducts research in other clinical areas. Vancouver Community Health Services is initiating research in such areas as outcome evaluation for a variety of health issues.

Also of keen interest to VCH Research Institute is interdisciplinary research for Nursing, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, and Respiratory Therapy.  A number of research projects are either underway or in the planning stages.

Lions Gate Hospital

Erin E. Michalak
Director of Mental Health, Research
erin.michalak@ubc.ca

Richmond: Mental Health

Wylo Kayle
wylo.kayle@vch.ca

Vancouver Community

Krisztina Vasarhelyi
Vancouver Community Research Facilitator
krisztina.vasarhelyi@vch.ca

Interdisciplinary: Nursing, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Respiratory Therapy

Romilda Ang
Director, Professional Practice – Nursing & Allied Health
Coastal (North Shore/Coast Garibaldi)
Romilda.Ang@vch.ca

Jo Clark
Director, Regional & Vancouver Acute Allied Health
Jo.Clark@vch.ca

Kim Dougherty
Director, Professional Practice – Nursing
Vancouver Acute
Kim.Dougherty@vch.ca

Johanne Fort
Director, Professional Practice – Nursing & Allied Health
Vancouver Community
Johanne.Fort@vch.ca