Congratulations Dr. Martin Gleave - Aubrey J. Tingle Prize Winner

Dr. Martin Gleave is the winner of the fourth annual Aubrey J. Tingle Prize, created in honour of the founding President and CEO of the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR).

Dr. Gleave is the executive director of the Vancouver Prostate Centre (VPC) and a distinguished professor in the Department of Urologic Sciences at UBC.  Hosted by the Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute and the University of British Columbia, VPC is Canada’s leading prostate cancer research institution as well as an internationally recognized Centre of Excellence.

Prostate cancer is the most common male cancer in Canada.  The aging baby-boomer population in Canada will experience double the incidence and mortality of prostate cancer by 20201. “Martin has contributed significantly to the understanding and treatment of prostate cancer, a disease that affects thousands of Canadian men every year,” says Dr. Diane Finegood, MSFHR president & CEO. “He has studied how prostate cancer grows on a cellular and molecular level and has used this research to develop therapies that specifically target these mechanisms, improving outcomes for men with the disease,” adds Dr. Finegood.

Dr. Gleave is internationally recognized as a motivated clinician-scientist and urologic surgeon who is eager to reach new heights in improving the quality of life for prostate cancer patients. In 2012-2013, VPC research teams received up to $23 million from 25 new grants.  Most prominent among these new funds was the additional five-year investment of $11.3 million from the Networks of Centres of Excellence (NCE).

Under Dr. Gleave’s leadership, PC-TRiADD (Prostate Centre's Translational Research Initiative for Accelerated Discovery and Development) was established to leverage the track record of successful translational research at VPC. PC-TRiADD is a national centre of excellence in commercialization and research focused on discovering and developing new interventions to improve outcomes in prostate and other cancer.

The Aubrey J. Tingle Prize is awarded annually to a British Columbia clinician scientist or scholar practitioner whose work in health research is internationally recognized and has had a significant impact on improving health and the health system. Congratulations Dr. Martin Gleave!


1 PC-TRiADD Annual Report 2012 – 2013.

Photo credit: Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research

Share this article